Visiting members of Parliamentarians for Global Action meets with the Equal Opportunity Commission

The Chairman and Commissioners of the Equal Opportunity Commission (EOC), received a courtesy call from visiting members of Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA) on Thursday, June 23, 2016, at the EOC’s office in Chaguanas. The visiting members of PGA comprised Dip. Minou Tavárez Mirabel, President, Dr. David Donat Cattin, Secretary General and Mónica Adame, Programme Director.

The courtesy call stems from the PGA campaign against discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity to sensitise Members of Parliament (MPs) about equality and non-discrimination in international human rights law. The aim is to discuss among peer Parliamentarians actions and best practices to address the challenges and needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) persons in their countries, and foster dialogue between MPs and representatives from the LGBTI community. 

The gathering discussed working together in the promotion of equality of opportunity and human rights in Trinidad and Tobago and the region. The Chairman of the EOC, Mrs. Lynette Seebaran-Suite shared that the Commission is working towards the elimination of all forms of discrimination in Trinidad and Tobago. Mrs. Seebaran-Suite also pointed out that one of the first acts of the current Board of Commissioners was to recommend to the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs that sexual orientation be included as a prohibited ground of discrimination in the Equal Opportunity Act.

The members shared and exchanged some of their strategies and best practices in advancing the human rights of all vulnerable and disadvantaged groups, including the LGBTI community. This includes an upcoming seminar in Montevideo, Uruguay, to launch a handbook for Parliamentarians in combating discrimination against persons on the status of sexual orientation.

Attached photography with caption: Courtesy Call: Mrs. Lynette Seebaran Suite, Chairman – EOC and PGA members